Translated crime books to discover

The amount of crime fiction available to readers is enormous and what makes it even better the sheer number of incredible translated crime fiction. Translated crime books give a fascinating insight into the similarities and differences of crime fiction from across the world. This is our list of 5 crime books in translation we think you should check out.

Posted on September 27, 2019 in Uncategorized
Tags:

The Mountain – Luca D’Andrea

The Mountain

An atmospheric commercial thriller for readers of Stephen King and Joël Dicker, set among Italy’s mysterious Dolomite Mountains. 

Jeremiah Salinger blames himself. The crash was his fault. He was the only survivor. Now the depression and the nightmares are closing in. Only his daughter Clara can put a smile on his face.

But when he takes Clara to the Bletterbach – a canyon in the Dolomites rich in fossil remains – he overhears by chance a conversation that gives his life renewed focus. In 1985 three students were murdered there, their bodies savaged, limbs severed and strewn by a killer who was never found.

Salinger, a New Yorker, is far from home, and these Italian mountains, where his wife was born, harbour a close-knit, tight-lipped community whose mistrust of outsiders can turn ugly. All the same, solving this mystery might be the only thing that can keep him sane.

Translated by Howard Curtis.

 

Irène – Pierre Lemaitre

Irene

 

The first book in the acclaimed Brigade Criminelle Trilogy.

THE NOVELIST KILLS BY THE BOOK

For Commandant Camille Verhœven life is beautiful. He is happily married and soon to become a father.

HE’S ALWAYS ONE CHAPTER AHEAD

But his blissful existence is punctured by a murder of unprecedented savagery. When his team discovers that the killer has form – and each murder is a homage to a classic crime novel – the Parisian press are quick to coin a nickname . . . The Novelist.
HE HATES HAPPY ENDINGS

With the public eye fixed on both hunter and hunted, the case develops into a personal duel, each hell-bent on outsmarting the other. There can only be one winner. The one who has the least to lose.

Continue the trilogy with the gripping continuations, Alex and Camille.

Translated by Frank Wynne.

 

Zen and the Art of Murder – Oliver Bottini

Zen and the Art of Murder

Shortlisted for the CWA International Dagger, Zen and the Art of Murder is the first in the Black Forest Investigations series set in Germany.

Louise Boni, maverick chief inspector with the Black Forest crime squad, is struggling with her demons. Divorced at forty-two, she is haunted by the shadows of the past.

Dreading yet another a dreary winter weekend alone, she receives a call from the departmental chief which signals the strangest assignment of her career – to trail a Japanese monk wandering through the snowy wasteland to the east of Freiburg, dressed only in sandals and a cowl. She sets off reluctantly, and by the time she catches up with him, she discovers that he is injured, and fearfully fleeing some unknown evil. When her own team comes under fire, the investigation takes on a terrifying dimension, uncovering a hideous ring of child traffickers. The repercussions of their crimes will change the course of her own life.

Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.

Continue the Black Forest Investigation series with A Summer of Murder and The Dance of Death.

Translated by Jamie Bulloch.

 

The Black Path – Åsa LarssonThe Black Path

The novels that inspired Rebecca Martinsson: Arctic Murders – the major More 4 TV series.

The frozen body of a woman is found in a fishingark on the ice near  near Torneträsk in northern Sweden. She has been brutally tortured, but the killing blow was clumsy, almost amateur.

The body is quickly identified, raising hopes of an open-and-shut solution. But when a six-month-old suicide is disinterred, Rebecka Martinsson and Anna-Maria Mella find themselves investigating shocking corruption at the heart of one of Sweden’s most successful mining companies. One that has powerful enemies of its own.

Translated by Marlaine Delargy.

 

The Missing File – D. A Mishani

The Missing File

Groundbreaking. Heartbreaking. Boundary breaking. The first Israeli detective novel to take the West by storm is just the beginning for DI Avraham...

A sixteen-year-old boy is missing. His mother is worried. Inspector Avraham Avraham is not. It is unheard of for children to vanish in this city. But the boy has disappeared without trace. The parents are wretched, the neighbourhood suspicious; the boy’s tutor harbours a secret. Avraham’s only answer is so unthinkable, it will take all his courage to face.

Continue the Inspector Avraham Avraham Novels with A Possibility of Violence and The Man Who Wanted To Know

Translated by Steven Cohen.

More from the Crime Files blog

Comments

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.