Our Books: Historical Crime

  • The Bone Fire

    The Bone Fire

    by, SD Sykes

    The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris. ‘Living legends Andrew Taylor and Susanna Gregory; bestselling phenomena SJ Parris and CJ Sansom… a league of extraordinary resurrectionists. If you love …

    MORE >
  • The Unquiet Heart

    The Unquiet Heart

    by, Kaite Welsh

    Kaite Welsh’s thrilling medical mystery THE UNQUIET HEART is the second in the gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For readers of Natasha Pulley’s THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET or Laur …

    MORE >
  • The Vanished Bride

    The Vanished Bride

    The year is 1845, and Emily, Charlotte and Anne Bronte are sat around the dining room table, laughing merrily as the rain of their Yorkshire summer falls outside. When their brother, Branwell, returns from The Bull Inn, he brings with him the most shoc …

    MORE >
  • The Red Ribbon

    The Red Ribbon

    The thrilling follow up to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, featuring Wiggins – an ex-soldier who was trained as a child by Sherlock Holmes. Praise for The Irregular ‘H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Bond and Holmes’ Giles Foden, a …

    MORE >
  • The Wages of Sin

    The Wages of Sin

    by, Kaite Welsh

    An irresistible mystery set in 1890s Edinburgh, Kaite Welsh’s THE WAGES OF SIN features a female medical student-turned-detective, and will thrill fans of Sarah Waters and Antonia Hodgson. Sarah Gilchrist has fled from London to Edinburgh in disgrace a …

    MORE >
  • The Zealot’s Bones

    The Zealot’s Bones

    by, David Mark

    From Hell, Hull and Halifax, may the Good Lord deliver us. In 1849, Hull is a city forgotten and abandoned; in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down by the cartload. Into this world of flame and grief comes Mesach Stone …

    MORE >
  • City of Masks

    City of Masks

    by, SD Sykes

    Book 3 in the gripping Oswald de Lacy series, from ‘the medieval CJ Sansom’ (Jeffery Deaver) ‘Sophisticated plotting, intrigue, and immersion in a fascinating historical setting’ Library Journal 1358. Oswald de Lacy, Lord Somershill, is in Venice, awai …

    MORE >
  • Death in the Tuscan Hills

    Death in the Tuscan Hills

    by, Marco Vichi

    Longlisted for the CWA International Dagger 2017. Spring, 1967. The trail of tragedy and destruction that followed the previous winter’s flood seems to have died down; Florence is beginning to recover. But Inspector Bordelli does not feel the same sens …

    MORE >
  • We Were Kings

    We Were Kings

    by, Thomas O’Malley, Douglas Graham Purdy

    In 1950s Boston, the best way to survive is keep your head down and  your mouth shut. But Cal and Dante prefer to do the right thing, not the  sensible one. When a body is discovered tarred,  feathered and shot, it is dismissed as a gangland killing.   …

    MORE >
  • The Third Nero

    The Third Nero

    by, Lindsey Davis

    Flavia Albia’s day-old marriage is in trouble – her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds. So when Palace officials ask her to help expose a plotter in their midst she is obliged to accept their commission. The plot could not b …

    MORE >