Our Books: Mystery

  • The Bone Fire

    The Bone Fire

    by, SD Sykes

    The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris. ‘Living legends Andrew Taylor and Susanna Gregory; bestselling phenomena SJ Parris and CJ Sansom… a league of extraordinary resurrectionists. If you love …

    MORE >
  • The Vanished Bride

    The Vanished Bride

    The year is 1845, and Emily, Charlotte and Anne Bronte are sat around the dining room table, laughing merrily as the rain of their Yorkshire summer falls outside. When their brother, Branwell, returns from The Bull Inn, he brings with him the most shoc …

    MORE >
  • Blood Daughter

    Blood Daughter

    by, Dreda Say Mitchell

    BLOOD DAUGHTER sees the Miller sisters’ loyalties put to the ultimate test in a gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller.  They say blood is thicker than water.  That’s not going to stop it being spilled.  Life hasn …

    MORE >
  • Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

    Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

    by, Catriona McPherson

    Scotland, 1934. Aristocratic private detective Dandy Gilver arrives at Castle Bewer, at midsummer, to solve the tangled mystery of a missing man, a lost ruby and a family curse. The Bewer family’s latest wheeze to keep the wolf from the door is turning …

    MORE >
  • Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lion

    Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lion

    by, Mario Giordano

    ‘Alive with a tang of lemons to set the senses zinging’ The Spectator Translated fiction at its most charming – A Man Called Ove meets Andrea Camilleri, Auntie Poldi is this summer’s most unlikely hero. Auntie Poldi can think of no finer place to wait …

    MORE >
  • Mister Memory

    Mister Memory

    by, Marcus Sedgwick

    In Paris, in the year 1899, Marcel Després is arrested for the murder of his wife and transferred to Salpêtrière asylum. And so the story might have stopped. But the doctor there soon realises this is no ordinary patient: Marcel Després, Mister Memory, …

    MORE >
  • The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid

    The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid

    Private Investigator Lennox returns in a new helping of fast-paced detective noir, set in 1950s Glasgow. Quiet Tommy Quaid is one of Lennox’s few friends in Glasgow. Lennox appreciates Tommy’s open, straightforward personality – even if he is a master …

    MORE >
  • The Woman in Blue

    The Woman in Blue

    by, Elly Griffiths

    Forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth Galloway returns in a new thrilling mystery from the best-selling Elly Griffiths The murder of women priests in the shrine town of Walsingham sucks Dr Ruth Galloway into an unholy investigation. When Ruth’s friend Cathbad …

    MORE >
  • Blackwater

    Blackwater

    by, James Henry

    THE NEW ESSEX-BASED CRIME SERIES FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE DI JACK FROST PREQUELS. ‘James Henry’s writing is vivid and compelling, with great evocation of the 1980s period’ Peter James January 1983, Colchester CID A new year brings new resolut …

    MORE >
  • Goodbye to the Dead

    Goodbye to the Dead

    NINE YEARS It is almost a decade since Duluth said goodbye to its innocence. The city creeps ever closer to the tenth anniversary of the year in which it found itself both gripped by murder and united in terror; and during which the pillar of its commu …

    MORE >