Peter May

Peter May

Peter May was born in Glasgow. An award-winning journalist at 21, he left newspapers when his first novel was published in his mid-20s. After adapting it for the BBC, he went on to create three major drama series and accrued more than 1,000 credits during 15 high-octane years as scriptwriter, creator and script editor of prime-time British television drama.

Since quitting television to return to his first love, books, he has won multiple awards worldwide.

“The Blackhouse” – the first in his best-selling Lewis Trilogy – won the U.S. Barry Award for Crime Novel of the Year and the French national CEZAM Prix Litteraire. The follow-up, “The Lewis Man” won the French daily newspaper Le Télégramme’s 10,000-euro Grand Prix des Lecteurs and the third in the trilogy “The Chessmen” won the Cognac Polar Prix International.

In 2014, Peter’s standalone, “Entry Island”, won both the Deanston’s Scottish Crime Novel of the Year and the UK’s ITV Bookclub Dagger Award for Best Read of the Year award.

He has now written more than twenty novels including two 6-part series: the China Thrillers and the Enzo Files.

Peter May lives in France.

Books by Peter May

Chinese Whispers The Runner Entry Island Blacklight Blue The Critic Blow back Freeze Frame Extraordinary People The Firemaker cover The Chess Men The Lewis Man The Black House Runaway by Peter May Coffin Road cover